Introduction

Let me introduce myself, my name is Nickolas Corley.  I am married and have 2 great children (17 months old and almost 3).  I am a passionate golfer, and love to travel, those kids I talked about a second ago have but a little wrench into that.  I am an 8th grade mathematics teacher in Northfield, NJ.  I am trying to make myself a better mathematics teacher.  My professional goals for this year are the following:

  1. Spread the Desmos word – I have been using the website desmos.com and teacher.desmos.com for many year.  Last year I was choses as a Desmos Fellow, and now I want to make sure as many teachers as possible are using Desmos and using it to its fullest potential.
  2. I want to explore the possibility of changing my grading techniques to standards bases grading, which can eventually lead to the long-term goal of having my class be pass/fail.  I am always frustrated by students trying to achieve a goal of a certain number in my class.  I want to put the emphasis on becoming a better problem solver, and acquiring skills and techniques to help achieve that.
  3. We have an “EdCamp” style period in my school, and I am on a never ending quest to find creative mathematics activities to do with my students.

I don’t know how often I will get to blog, but I thought blogging with be something new for this year.  I recently gave up Facebook, it was too much “Fluff” for me, so I thought with the extra time I could start blogging.

I am always looking for constructive critisim and looking to develop new professional relationships to help me grow.  Feel free to share/collaborate with me.

Leave a Reply

