Long term substitute in Math

I had the privilege today of helping my principal help choose a long term sub for the other 8th grade mathematics teacher in my school, who is going out on a maternity leave.   After the interviews my principal still had not decided who the best person was for the job, but it made me start to think…

Regardless of which candidate is chosen, I know it is going to be part of my job to help them acclimate to our school, math program, curriculum, and students.  I do not envy their job for the 16 weeks they will be with us at NCS.  They have to come into a classroom that has an established set of rules and procedures and make it their own.  They have to quickly learn a new curriculum and a new set of students, analyze their strengths and weaknesses and make a decision about what is best to do for all of them.  Although I am optimistic, I am also realistic and realize that this will be an uphill battle for both the teacher and their students.  Finding good math educators is tough, finding teacher who strives in middle school is tough, finding a good math teacher for a middle school long term sub position is challenging to say the least.  This is one of those times when I am happy I am a teacher and not an administrator!

 

 

Leave a Reply

